White Sugar – Hazardous so Beware

What could be better than white sugary yumminess?  Chocolate, cookies, pies, cakes, candies…  Most would secretly argue nothing beats it.  My Mom sure would.  And although my vices are stronger with coffee and wine, I must admit sometimes nothing takes the edge off like an organic dark chocolate bar or half a tub of Soy Dream ice cream. 

One of the first things I learned when I embarked on the goal to heal myself of cancer was that white sugar is void of all nutrients.  I learned this sweet substance actually has to steal vitamins and minerals from the body to be metabolized.  I knew I needed as many nutrients as possible to heal and get better, so my diet was simple – I would avoid white sugar at all costs.  Today I’m a little more lenient (not on my community cleanse of course) and when I say lenient I mean I rarely ingest white sugar on purpose.  I know I eat it in the foods prepared in restaurants and once in a while I’ll steal a bite of someone’s desert (now that I’m all better, I’m only human).  However, for the most part, this non-nutrient food has been stricken from my diet. 

I eat cane sugar and other types of sugars like agave and real maple syrup (after all I am from Canada).  However, cane sugar is less processed and still has its vitamins and minerals intact.  Therefore it’s much easier for the body to process.  Of course, everything in moderation, but let’s get back to white sugar.

Our consumption of white sugar has increased dramatically from about 5 pounds in the late 1800’s to anywhere between 135 and 190 pounds per year according to different sources.  Think that’s crazy?  Well not so crazy if you take a look at the latest obesity stats in the USA:

  • 58 Million Overweight; 40 Million Obese; 3 Million morbidly Obese
  • Eight out of 10 over 25′s Overweight
  • 76% increase in Type II diabetes in adults 30-40 yrs old since 1990

Source: http://www.annecollins.com/obesity/statistics-obesity.htm

Now that’s crazy!!

Sugar increases insulin produced by the pancreas and stresses the body to keep up with this yo-yoing effect.  It also depresses the immune system and creates an acid situation in the body and sets the stage for disease.  Consumption of white sugar is a major cause of tooth caries, diabetes, hypoglycemia, PMS, hormonal imbalances, mental illness and candida.  White sugar feeds yeast in the body and encourages a state of disbiosis – an imbalance in the intestinal gut flora that can lead to IBS and other issues of the colon.

It may be no surprise that along with a big helping of white sugary cake comes; mood swings, anxiety, hyperactivity and later depression.  Perhaps we have all felt this at one time or another?  What you may not experience viscerally are your low density lipoproteins (LDL) increasing and your high density lipoproteins decreasing (HDL) which may set the stage for heart disease.  We would rather this the other way around; we want to keep HDL (“good” cholesterol) high and LDL low (“bad” cholesterol).

So my advice is to try to incorporate less and less of this white sugary madness into your diet.  Try baking at home with cane sugar, brown rice syrup, agave, or other healthy alternatives (not sucralose, aspartame or other artificial sweeteners – more to come on this later).   

Source:  http://nancyappleton.com/141-reasons-sugar-ruins-your-health/

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

