Red Pepper Smoothie

Red Pepper Smoothie

When peppers came into season about one month ago, I thought I’d try a little different smoothie action in the blender.  I used one full red bell pepper and the result was pure deliciousness.  My husband exclaimed, “Oh this tastes amazing, like mouthwash for your insides.”  Now granted he’s fully drank the kool-aid and is onboard the health train, I still consider him a good solid guinea pig.

Yummy and oh so healthy!
(the recipe is for two people)
put the following ingredients in a blender…bottoms up…
2 bananas
1 apple

10 strawberries (I used frozen)
1 red bell pepper
One third of a bunch of cilantro
just a little water – start with a ¼ cup and add more if necessary to blend (add ice instead if your berries are not frozen)

I love eating vegetables this way (in the blender) because they’re raw. It’s not often I sit down and eat half a bell pepper and loads of cilantro.  It’s super easy to increase our intake of fresh veggies, when we throw them in the blender. You can try any variety of them, maybe just not mustard greens.  Take my word for it, mustard greens taste horrible in a smoothie – wasabi shooter smoothie – no thank-you.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Paul Gregory the first on October 15, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    Why does all your food look like stew?

  2. You’re funny Paul! You should eat more “stew” – it may improve your situation :).
    Laura Levesque-Page
    The Healthy Junkie

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

