Eat Healthy Challenge – Let’s All Commit!

MY EAT HEALTHY CHALLENGE GOALS

This is meant to be a contract between you and yourself to set goals and participate in the Community Eat Healthy Challenge.  Circle the weeks you commit to staying on the Challenge or circle the full four weeks. You can also view my older example, from a past Challenge. For this next Eat Healthy Challenge, I’ve again chosen all six restrictions below and will stay on the Challenge for the full four weeks. I will definitely need some community support.

Print this out and fill it in.  I will commit to:

WEEK ONE– September 6th – 12th    

 WEEK TWO – September 13th – 19th    

 WEEK THREE – September 20th – 26th    

 WEEK FOUR – September 27th– October 3rd

 FOUR WEEK CHALLENGE – September 6th– October3rd

Choose at least four of the following foods to be eliminated during the Eat Healthy Challenge and circle them:

  1. No Alcohol
  2. No Caffeine (green tea’s okay)
  3. No Sugar (including dextrose, fructose, glucose, sucrose, corn syrup, maltodextrin, sorbitol and many more).   Very little agave nectar is okay.  
  4. No White flour
  5. No Dairy (including milk, cheese, cream, ice cream).  Plain yogurt is okay, a little butter is okay.
  6. No Processed Foods or Hydrogenated Foods (this one must be circled by everyone).  Also, do not eat luncheon meats with nitrites and nitrates added as preservatives.  These are known to react with HCL (hydrochloric acid) in the stomach and produce nitrosamines that are known carcinogens.  Also, no MSG or sulfites. No Nutra-Sweet, aspartame, sucralose or Splenda.

**NOTE — YOU ARE GOING TO HAVE TO READ LABELS.

Now, for good measure, rewrite your goals below and sign and date your community cleanse challenge “contract”.

I ________________________________________ agree to remain on the Community Eat Healthy Challenge for ________ days and will eliminate the following five foods from my diet,

  1. __________________________________________________________,
  2. __________________________________________________________,
  3. __________________________________________________________,
  4. __________________________________________________________,
  5. __________________________________________________________ ,
  6. __________________________________________________________ .

Signature_________________________________________________           Date___________________

14 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dina Okada on October 6, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    All right lady, my contract is signed.. is it wrong that I’m a little scared? The only two I didn’t circle are alcohol and dairy; as you know my job is to sell wine, but I will be limiting consumption only to work functions. Also I will try to keep the dairy to a minimum as well..

    Going to seriously need some recipe/shopping tips as this cleanse seems to pretty much eliminate every food item in our house..😉

    xoxo

    D

    • It is so right to a lot scared. That’s why I’m so excited about the idea of a community cleanse. Changing our diets and omitting alcohol, sugar, caffeine, white flour, dairy and processed foods is not easy (eliminating just one of these items is difficult for most people). It’s super scary. But you’re going to have a group of people behind you to keep you accountable and supported along the way.
      Laura Levesque-Page
      Keep on the look-out for all the recipes and shopping tips to come.
      The Healthy Junkie

  2. Posted by Elaine on October 6, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    I’m in for 4 weeks and have circled all 6!!

  3. I am going to do it! Count me in sista!

  4. Posted by Julie on October 9, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    I’m on for four weeks! This is the challenge I need right now. I’m debating about the alcohol part…I don’t want to fail!

  5. It’s great that you’re committed for the full four weeks! I would suggest that you begin with alcohol being on your list for the first week. This is really supposed to be challenging. Alcohol is such a present part of how we socialize – I’m going to struggle (not going to lie). But commit to no alcohol for the first week, go from there, and remember you’re not alone.
    Laura Levesque-Page
    The Healthy Junkie

  6. Posted by Ann on October 11, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    K, I am in for 3 weeks, but then my b-day celebrating begins with a sister’s get away. No alcohol, caffeine, dairy, sugar. Can we at least get together and eat carrots?

  7. Posted by Andrea Johnston on October 16, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    OK I am in for two weeks to start to see how it goes. Hopefully I can do the full four. But I think this will be a challenge as I am travelling some of the time for work. Any suggestions?
    Auntie A

  8. Posted by Big Mama on October 16, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    Ok honey, just signed up and count me in to the bitter end! Get it?no sugar! This is going to be hard and they are so going to miss me at our local “Timmy’s”.
    Love, Big Mama

  9. Posted by Tara on October 17, 2010 at 1:13 am

    I’m in!
    I’ve done two of these before.
    They lasted 21 days.
    Nearly threw in the towel during the first 4 days (which are the most difficult) but it’s soooo worth it in the end. I’ve never felt better. It also allowed me to lose that that bloated tummy which made me look four months pregnant.
    It’s great to know that others will be doing it at the same time. I always try to look at it NOT as depriving myself but as a gift of good health and boundless energy that I am treating myself to.
    Ok. I think I’ve nearly convinced myself!

  10. Posted by Cathryn on October 17, 2010 at 5:25 am

    I am in for 4 weeks and going for all 6. I need something to get me back on track and away from my 2-3 cups of coffee a day…ok yes, I said it…I sometimes have 3 a day, Laura! So bad. I also am so stoked about the green smoothy every am🙂 My kids are not going to know what hit them. Oh, so while doing this cleanse, will it get me out of having to make dinner for my hubby and kids too for 4 weeks? oh, wouldn’t that be nice🙂

  11. I’m in for five! Might need to have a glass of wine now and then to take the edge off the stress of the fast, ha, ha!
    -I

  12. Posted by Leslie on October 25, 2010 at 12:33 am

    A good friend just told me about this site. I’m joining in for the last 3 weeks of the cleanse. I know I can do alchohol, caffine, and sugar. Prep is my BIG challenge, so processed foods are going to be tough – I grab and go around my hectic schedule. My personal focus is going to be on increasing fibre and water intake. (recent diagnosis of divirticulosis) If I consciouly choose the best fibre option available to me in the momment for the next 3 weeks I will be well on my way to changing my poor eating patterns, and will likely have automatically descreased my intake of white flour and dairy.

    Thanks for saying yogurt is OK as fruit smoothies are such a good way for me to make sure I get enough fruit which I have this odd tendancy to ignore more than veggies.

    — leslie

    • Welcome to The Healthy Junkie Leslie. Glad to have you with us on the cleanse. Maybe take a look at past posts entitled “Eating Out and Travelling” and “Shopping List”. No doubt you will be well on your way after three weeks. Happy cleansing!
      Laura Levesque-Page
      The Healthy Junkie

Comments are closed.

