Everyday Breakfast Smoothie

Jay and I drink this smoothie every morning for breakfast.  My friend Julia is an advocate for the green smoothie revolution and I’ve incorporated many of her ideas into this smoothie.  The following recipe contains more servings of fruits and vegetables than a typical American consumes all day.  *Excluding potatoes, on average Americans consume a combined total of only three servings of fruits and vegetables per day.  The Everyday Breakfast Smoothie has about five servings of combined fruits and vegetables per person.  

You are going to need a blender.  The idea is to drink fresh veggies and increase overall nutrition.  So play around with the ingredients if you want.

Everyday Breakfast Smoothie (serves 2)

  • 1-2 bananas
  • 1 apple
  • 1 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1/2 cup of blueberries
  • 1/2 cup frozen green peas
  • 4 large stalks and leaves of kale
  • 1/2 red or green pepper
  • 1/4 bunch of fresh parsley
  • 1 tbsp wheatgrass (bought from a Health Food store)
  • 2 tbsp of flaxseed oil
  • water to blend 

You can also eat a handful of nuts for protein on the side. 

Serve and enjoy!

Source: http://www.hsph.harvard.edu/nutritionsource/what-should-you-eat/vegetables-full-story/index.html

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Nada on October 14, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    Does this have a bitter, sweet or in the middle taste? I’m very curious to give it a try.

  2. I would say it’s in the middle – definitely not bitter. Red peppers are sweet, but most people are used to sugary tasting juices. It doesn’t taste sugary – just naturally sweet. Let me know if you like it, once you try it.

  3. Posted by Nada on October 15, 2010 at 12:32 am

    Thanks Laura. I will add this all to my grocery list this weekend and I’ll let you know.

  4. Posted by Cathryn on October 17, 2010 at 5:11 am

    I am very excited to dring this bad boy every morning! Thanks for the idea Laura. I am all over it!

  5. Posted by Elaine on October 19, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    I combine frozen mixed fruit (berries) with a scoop of powdered “greens” a scoop of my vanilla protein and a cup of fresh spring water in my bullet to start my day. This gives me my total daily fruit and vegetable requirement, fills me up and keeps me going with alot of energy right through until lunch!

Comments are closed.

