Costs of Shopping

Last night a small group of Napa community cleansers met at the Whole Foods.  It was so much fun we’ve decided to meet up once a week with anyone who’s interested in grocery shopping together.  “What do I do with this?” one of them asked and held up a parsnip.  “Roast them with other root vegetables like sweet potatoes and beets tossed in a little olive oil and sea salt,” one of the ladies suggested.  “You can also throw them into a bean and rice salad after they’re roasted,” another community cleanser offered.”   

We also came up with many other great ideas around foods to eat on the cleanse that may feel more like “treats”; almond butter on “Wasa” crackers, stewed fruit baked into a “Vicolo” spelt and corn meal pizza crust, rice pudding made with brown rice, soy milk and raisins, popcorn drizzled with flax-seed oil and sea salt (never heat flax-seed oil).        

The group found more of the initial investment to begin the cleanse in the costs of the condiments than in the actual food prices.  Many of the cleansers needed to purchase different mustards, hot sauces, jams, nut butters, salsa, mayonnaise and salad dressings. 

But the cost discussion had me contemplating my own financial situation while on The Community Cleanse.  My estimated personal savings while cleansing are the following; $4.50 per day for my soy latte, on average $5 per day for lunches eaten out (I typically bring a lunch or eat in), and about $15 per night on eating out and having drinks out (I think I’m being unrealistically conservative on this one, but of course I don’t go out every night).  My daily savings without alcohol, lattes and dining out is about $25.  If I add $20 per week for wine opened at home (again maybe I should increase this?), my weekly savings without lattes, alcohol and eating out is going to be about $195.  And I didn’t even include my expenditure on cheese. 

I know healthier foods can seem more expensive and a lot of the time, they are!  But most of us won’t even notice a difference in our pocket books at the end of the cleanse.  We’re simply shifting money around.  I don’t always buy organic – I try to as much as possible, but sometimes I just can’t bring myself to pay $5.99 per pound for organic asparagus.  I always buy organic or free range, naturally farmed meats without antibiotics or pesticides and organic eggs.  I don’t compromise on meat.  I have found a couple of grocery stores to have better prices on the organic greens like kale, Swiss chard, dandelion greens and arugula as well as other organic fruits like apples, pears and frozen berries. Sometimes it pays to shop around!

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Stephanie DeMasi on October 19, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    So agreed! The check out girl yesterday looked at me and was like WHOA you got a lot for $120 I am officially in love w/ that Spelt bread and my new Goat Cheese Cream Cheese. Who knew:)

  2. Posted by Ann on October 19, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    Sorry I missed you guys at Whole Foods, but just to be different, I found all that I needed at Raleys. They have a great Natural Food section, and maybe their produce isn’t as glamorous, but I too found Coconut Bliss!

    xoxoAnn

  3. Posted by paul gregory the 2nd on October 20, 2010 at 3:37 am

    I’m currently eating out of dumpsters. Once the welfare cheque comes in I can start eating like you mentioned. Sugar, the other white drug is the hard one to get off. As a junkie I’m having a tough time. Peppermint tea is helping. Its not green and it doesn’t have caffeine so am I ok? How many days left to go? 🙂. Peace out hippies

  4. I’m just making mulch soups from my yard grass clippings, ha, ha!
    No, it’s totally true -when I was in college on a super budget I was saving money by shopping at the health food store because I was not afraid to cook (meaning I would make a huge bowl of something like a hearty soup and eat it for days) and buying things like grains, beans, nuts, etc. in bulk is so much cheaper.

  5. i wish i lived in napa!
    i could not find almond butter without sugar. they all had 1g per serving. does your brand have sugar?

  6. Posted by Julie on October 20, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    I did it! I made and drank the smoothies! And I liked it!

  7. Posted by Big Mama on October 20, 2010 at 2:35 pm

    I found organic almond butter at Longo’s. Only ingredient is Almonds. No sugar added. Perhaps any sugar content is a natural by-product so we don’t have to worry about it? I think the brand is “Nuts to you”.

  8. Thanks Big Mama for answering the almond butter question. This is truly the vision – to have community cleansers help answer some of each other’s questions. You may also find almond butter that you grind yourself at a health food store. “Nuts to You” and “Once Again” are good brands.
    Laura Levesque-Page
    The Healthy Junkie

Comments are closed.

