The Fake, The Sweet, The Goat and The “Chips”

I’ve had a few repeated questions over the past few weeks and thought I would offer a little more information.  Hope this helps.

Aspartame

Fifteen years ago, before I got sick, I used to drink a diet coke every morning for breakfast.  Then I would chew Extra Chlorophyll gum all day long.  I would never attribute this to the reason I got sick, but given the studies out on Aspartame, it sure couldn’t have helped.  Aspartame is highly toxic and should never be used as a sugar replacement.  There have been many studies completed on the alter-indications of aspartame.  It is known to increase nervous system dysfunction and promote multiple sclerosis, birth defects and many different types of cancers.  There are also a wide range of side effects from ingesting Aspartame including headaches, joint pain, rashes, heart palpitations, hives, weight gain, fatigue, tinnitus and irritability.  Aspartame has been linked to obesity, chronic memory and Alzheimer’s disease.  Ingesting one diet coke a day has been shown to cause an increased chance of developing lymphoma or leukemia.  Aspartame breaks down to formaldehyde in the body and alters cellular DNA.  Aspartame is in the trademarked brands Nutrasweet, Equal, Spoonful and is listed in many other products.

Sucralose

Splenda is made of sucralose.  *“Sucralose is a synthetic compound, which — without going into too much scientific detail –is basically sugar modified by adding chlorine atoms.”  Sucralose was discovered in the seventies by hazard when researchers were seeking a new pesticide. 

For the purpose of The Community Cleanse these sweeteners are of course all out.  This would include any gums made with these sweeteners.  However, I would also recommend re-thinking ingesting or chewing aspartame and sucralose in the future.

Sugar

Many of you have asked about products that do not have sugar listed in the ingredient list, but do show a certain number of grams listed in the nutritional section.  For instance, canned tomatoes and tomato sauce will list a few grams of sugar because they contain naturally occurring fruit sugars.  This is fine as long as there is no added sugar in the list of ingredients.   

Anything ending in “ose” is a sugar.  In case you’re confused about what other names sugar can go by here’s a list of about twenty:  Brown sugar, cane sugar, evaporated cane juice, corn syrup, demerara sugar, dextrose, fructose, galactose, glucose, high fructose corn syrup, invert sugar or invert cane juice, lactose, maltodextrin, maltose, molasses, confectioner’s sugar, rice syrup, sucrose, and turbinado.  I’m sure there are more…For more on sugar see White Sugar – Hazardous So Beware.

Goat Cheese and Yogurt

As discussed in the past post – Dairy – Oh Cheese, I’m Going to Miss you – goat’s milk is easier for the body to digest and yogurt contains many beneficial bacteria like acidophilus.  However, if you have ANY type of issue with bowel movements, eczema, acne, IBS, gas, fatigue, allergies, headaches, ANYTHING at all, I would recommend coming off dairy completely for the remainder of your committed time on the cleanse.  Goat products and yogurt are still considered dairy and staying away from them completely can be important for the body to heal.  This is up to you! 

Corn Chips or Brown Rice Chips

Can I eat tortilla chips?  I have had community cleansers tell me they think they will fail if they are not “aloud” to eat corn chips and salsa or brown rice crackers and hummus.  Well this time around, corn is not on the cleansing list.  The idea is to have everyone succeed.  For some of you, having let go of just a few things on The Community Cleanse Contract is a big accomplishment.  So, when someone asks me if they can eat corn or brown rice chips I say, “Yes, because it’s not on the list.  However, remember these ‘chips’ have been fried and are not really a cleansing food.  So limit your intake.”  I’ve been known to steal a few brown rice chips here and there.  But remember to always read – no hydrogenated oils, sugar, or white flour.  Happy weekend and happy cleansing! 

Sources:

  1. *http://www.steviacafe.net/dangers-of-splenda
  2. Bateson-Koch DC ND, Carolee. Allergies Disease in Disguise – How to heal your allergic condition   permanently and naturally. Burnaby: Alive Books; 1994.
  3. http://dorway.com/dorwblog/aspartame-the-bad-news-repost/peer-reviewed-aspartame-studies/
  4. http://dorway.com/dorwblog/breaking-news-study-shows-aspartame-liver-lung-cancer/

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Michele on October 22, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    When I was a teenager, I drank diet coke as a meal replacement several times a day. Sometimes I would even go through a six pack. Somewhere in my mind I thought I was doing myself a favour by doing this. I shake my head now to think of the damage I was doing to my body. I would also chew ALOT of sugarless gum with thinking that it was harmless and even good for my teeth. I haven’t been able to chew gum for close to a decade because it gives me a stomachache every time I chew it.

    Now it wouldn’t cross my mind to ingest either of these “foods”.

    Happy cleansing all!!

  2. Posted by James on October 23, 2010 at 12:47 am

    Great info! Never knew all of these details! Thanks!!!

  3. Posted by Charlene Keen on October 23, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    Thanks so much for this – I occasionally chew sugarless gum (has aspartame), but am getting off this as I know in the past aspartame has affected my “brain function” making me fuzzy. I occasionally cook with combination of brown sugar and Splenda but prefer to use Agave or Maple Syrup. I tea I most always use Stevia.

  4. I grew up on Honey, it’s even my moms name!
    -I

  5. Posted by Honey Fortney on October 28, 2010 at 5:58 am

    http://www.freesamplesite.com/ydf/showthread.php?208199-MSG-(Monosodium-Glutamate)-and-Fibromyalgia

    This is a good place to mention MSG (Monosodium Glutimate) and it’s bad effects. Most people aren’t aware of it in their food and know of it only as something only found in Chinese food.
    I recently found this article (on the website above) when I was looking into the ingredients of my favorite Knorr seasoning.
    I was amazed to find all different names that MSG is hidden behind.
    It begins to look like most of our food in inundated with it!!
    Check out this website to see it’s affects and what names it goes by.
    I love your blog!! Very inspiring!

Comments are closed.

