The Colon – A Potential Sewer?

We made it through one week!  Day 8 of The Community Cleanse.  Hopefully we didn’t lose too many over the weekend.  Yesterday, one of my close friends’ said, “I used my cheat day last night.  But I’m back on it.  I’m refocused and ready to go.  No more cheat days.”  Of course you don’t have to take your one allowed cheat day.  At the moment, I’m feeling really good and don’t have any intention of using it – we’ll see.  I know we have some new community cleansers and I would like to welcome you all.  Anyone can join from now until the end on November 14th. 

Let’s talk about the colon!  There are two contributing factors that can lead to chronic disease – slow digestion and incomplete digestion.  Digestion begins in the mouth.  As we chew, our saliva secretes enzymes that aid in the assimilation of nutrients.  To ensure adequate digestion, especially of carbohydrates, it’s important that we feel relaxed, eat slowly and chew our food.

Food moves along the esophagus to the stomach where it is churned.  Chemicals in digestive juices are released.  This aids in the breakdown and digestion of food and assimilation of amino acids, vitamins and minerals.  HCL (hydrochloric acid) helps prevent the growth of microbes into the intestinal tract.  It’s important that the stomach remain highly acid.  Many have what is called, an underactive stomach.  We’ll come back to the stomach in a later post.

Food is then moved into the small intestine, where most of the digestion takes place.  When undigested food reaches the colon, the problem begins.  The colon is a “sewer” and houses good and bad bacteria.  The ratio should be about 70%-80% “good bacteria”.  The colon expects food to be properly digested before it gets here.  Good bacteria produce vitamins and protect the colon wall.  Undigested food ferments and the “bad bacteria” feed on this, allowing them to grow stronger in number and produce by-products of yeast, aldehydes and other toxins.  This brings the integrity of the colon wall into question as the “bad guys” make holes in it.  Undigested proteins and toxins move through the holes and into the blood stream where they freely circulate creating allergies and / or autoimmune diseases.  This is also named “Leaky Gut Syndrome”.

A common condition that results from a clogged colon or Leaky Gut is candidiasis – an overgrowth of yeast in the body.  Main complaints of Candida are; sugar cravings, high sensitivity to smells like perfume, gas, bloating, IBS, dizziness, fatigue, moodiness, itchy ears, nose and anus, difficulty concentrating, eczema, hives, hemorrhoids, vaginal yeast, and autoimmune conditions like fibromyalgia.  Those with many allergies seem to have higher levels of Candida – yeast in the body.

According to Dr. Jonn Matsen N.D., most everyone has an overgrowth of yeast.  This may be attributed to poor digestion over time, refined foods, processed foods, alcohol, white sugar, stress, an underactive stomach and the use of antibiotics and pharmaceutical drugs.     

If there is a colon problem, we can rebalance this by increasing fiber foods and drinking 8-10 glasses of water per day.  Fiber supplements like psyllium, ground flax meal, chia seeds and apple pectin can greatly help increase overall fiber intake.  Remember to drink lots of water.  Of course cleansing helps to improve the situation because sugar, alcohol, tobacco, refined and processed foods, white flour and dairy help to feed bad bacteria and irritate the digestive system.  Grapefruit seed extract and caprilic acid help to kill yeast (bad bacteria) and acidophilus helps to rebalance the intestinal flora (good bacteria).  Digestive enzymes can also help.  An elimination diet may be necessary if there are many food sensitivities.  Other foods that are known to be highly allergenic are; corn, peanuts, baking yeast, pork, wheat, mushrooms, soy and gluten.  So let’s get our potential sewers in check and happy cleansing to all!  

Sources:

Dr. Matsen N.D., Jonn. Eating Alive, Prevention Thru Good Nutrition. Crompton Books, Ltd, 1987.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by lela on October 26, 2010 at 3:40 am

    So I think my first day of the cleanse went pretty well. Since I had an ungodly wakeup call (230am) to catch a 6am flight I prepared the food for my trip the night before. Here is what I brought:
    Breakfast-tea, breakfast bar, and instant oatmeal which I ate later on the plane.
    Lunch-rice, beans, salsa with sautéed squash (note to self squash is not travel friendly and is offensive to the neighbor and the self). I think the next flight calls for a sprouts, cucumber, and lettuce with some sort of protein that doesn’t go bad wrap.
    Dinner-was at a Japanese chain (you know the ones where they cook the food in front of you). I had ahi tuna with stir fried veggies along with a couple of bites of a broth based soup, awful iceberg lettuce salad, and white (I know) rice. I declined all sauces and asked them to only use oil. Granted the oil was probably canola not EVO but he used very little.
    As I got back to the hotel on this balmy (85 degree) night all I could think about was an ice cold beer by the pool. So do you think Odooles (sp?) is cleanse friendly? : ) I didn’t think so.
    To all you travelers I think with a little practice cleanse friendly travel is obtainable. Plus when I get the funny looks and comments (I think I offended the cook tonight) all I have to say is that I am from CA and they roll their eyes and say no wonder. LOL!
    I also packed cleanse friendly wraps, an apple, another bar and dried mangos for melt down moments. I am going to try and hit the store before my next plane so I can by some veggies for my wraps.

  2. Posted by lela on October 26, 2010 at 3:42 am

    I MEANT TO SAY MY FIRST CLEANSE TRAVEL DAY!

Comments are closed.

