Feel The Community Cleanse

I feel calmer.  I feel a little more grounded and a lot less irritated.  I feel more consistently happy.  Not cart-wheel through the neighborhood happy (like I sometimes feel after a few sips of coffee) but I feel more than just content.  It’s a middle of the road, consistent contentment.  But a brighter feeling than that…I suppose what I’m trying to say is I feel evenly joyful.  Are there any other community cleansers feeling me?  

I didn’t expect this – I mean no coffee, no alcohol, “denying” myself cheese…I thought the only way I was going to keep myself from shouting “screw you” to everyone who walked by, was to lock myself in my closet for the four weeks of The Community Cleanse.  I must admit, I did feel a little bit like this for the first three days and I apologize to anyone who caught the brunt of it (Jay).  But three days into the cleanse I started to regain my energy – my own energy, not coffee, alcohol, sugar induced energy, but my own energy – who knew that was even there?

I don’t wake up dehydrated or fuzzy (or hung over).  I’m sleeping better.  I don’t feel “speedy” during the day and I’m able to brush off the little things.  My digestion is amazing (I won’t go into details) and I love the food we’re eating.  I feel like I’m at a retreat in my own home.  But this is probably because, being a restaurant lover, I’ve never spent so much time in this home.  I’m probably more of a restaurant addict, but I prefer the term restaurant lover.

The other night Jay and I were discussing what restaurants we’re going to rush out to and visit first.  Jay said, “Once the cleanse is over, I think sharing a bottle of wine two to three times a week is totally good and moderate.” 

I said, “I think we should go out to eat at least two to three times a week because that’s totally good and moderate.”

We talked like this for another few minutes, dreaming of our favorite wines and restaurants and then we looked at each other and knew we were feeling the same way. 

Jay said, “I’m really just enjoying this cleanse right now.  I don’t even want to think about all that – the aftermath.” 

I said, “Yes, I couldn’t agree with you more.  Let’s just enjoy our cleansing time.  It’s fun.”

So, for now I’m feeling really good and knowing there are so many other community cleansers out there makes me feel even more calmly joyful.  Happy cleansing everyone!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Stephanie DeMasi on October 28, 2010 at 8:00 pm

    amen for digestion! I feel even… `I think I’m pretty much over the white flour/sugar, I don’t get “high” eating anymore. I bought parmesian on Sunday thinking I had had enough and haven’t opened it yet. No caffeine has been great, that 1 in the morning really set off a day of “high” that I am glad to be thru w/. My lunch has been the same, and my kitchen has never smelled so good w/ indian and italian spices and stews. Fall is a great time to do this:) And honestly, I don’t mind that I still need to be in bed by 1030! thanks laura

  2. Posted by Gail on October 28, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    Great progress report Laura! Happy to know both you and Jay have decided to concentrate on the “now” (the cleanse)…as you are best to stay in the present moment to continue feeling the joy and the benefit of how much better you are feeling!
    I am not yet 100% cleanse free, but I am definitely motivated and have been making some changes since the cleanse began. Half a cup of coffee with half cup almond milk and cinnamon, instead of coffee shop “Tim Hortons”! I will be ready to go caffiene free when back to work on Monday! I have also been enjoying my wheat free hot cereal with a tbsp. of almond butter, chopped banana and a little almond milk once cooked! Nummy!!!

  3. Posted by Ann on October 28, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    I totally get the “even keel” feeling. No ups and downs in energy during the day, just solid focus and calm. I could use more recipes though. I’m not creative enough to think beyond, salad, rice, beans, soup.
    Help!

    • Try making the pesto recipe from the “Pesto Pizza” blog entry (also named “Calling All Healthy Junkies – Recipes”). It’s super healthy and delicious. You don’t have to make the full pizzas if you don’t want to. Put the pesto on brown rice and top with chopped up tomatoes or stir fried vegetables. Or put the pesto on pasta (e.g. whole wheat, or kamut). I also eat the pesto on brown rice crackers, as a dip, in between meals. It’s easy to make and one can never eat too many greens. The Egg and Veggie Wraps are super quick and easy too. I’ll be posting more recipes over the weekend.
      Laura Levesque-Page
      The Healthy Junkie

  4. Posted by Julie on October 28, 2010 at 11:11 pm

    I totally agree about feeling balanced. I too am enjoying this time. It’s so interesting to spend so much time thinking about the food one can eat. I found myself at Raley’s at 8’o clock last night buying bananas so I could have my “dessert” with almond butter and a small glass of hazelnut milk..Yum!

    There is great recipe in the latest issue of Everyday Food by Martha Stewart. It’s a white bean stuffed portobello mushroom. It’s a good example of a dinner my family can eat that is also cleanse friendly.

  5. Posted by lela on October 29, 2010 at 4:02 am

    I got to say that I am feeling robbed of the perfect cleanse! Traveling is super tough. This week started out good and I know that I have made great choices but it has taken me everything I got not to run into the kitchens of the resturants to see how my food is being prepared. I am trying to ask the right questions but for the most part I have no idea where my meat is coming from or what they are really putting on the food. I have stayed away from all the big no’s, alcohal, sugar, dairy, white flour,,,,,Tonight I asked for bland grilled chicken and veggies for dinner lite on olive oil. When it came out it was a little to shiny and seasoned. URGHHHHH!

    I do feel better in alot of way but I want to feel great! as I was sitting in Starbucks with a passion fruit ice tea and Peeled organic snack pack I thought I might not need to go back to drinking coffee there are soo many teas in the world that I haven’t experienced! Then I thought who am I kidding. My point is that I don’t have to overdue the coffee there are other options.

    The other really great thing is that I am learning how to make better choices when I travel. Practice makes perfect right?

    Anyway I am so excited to be coming home tomorrow. I want to be more in control of my meals!

Comments are closed.

