Superfoods

Today marks the half-way mark for anyone who started the cleanse on the official first day, October 18th.  Today also marks the first day for some of you just beginning The Community Cleanse.  Wherever you are in your cleanse, congratulations!  I’m starting to feel like it’s “normal” to say, “No thank-you,” to pretty much everything everybody offers me. 

“Would you like a coffee?”  I say, “No thank-you”  “Would you like a beer or a glass of wine?”  I say, “No thank-you.”  “Here have some crackers and cheese.”  I say, “No thank-you.”  “Laura, I bought this organic, dark chocolate bar for you.”  I say, “OK.  I’ll save that one for later and eat it in two weeks, thank-you.” 

Last night, I was even able to ignore all those adorable trick-or-treaters with their pillow cases and lanterns teaming with candy.  I’m pretty proud of myself because not once did I stick my hand into one of their bags of treats and eat one.  Instead Jay and I drank out “POM-tinis” (half POM juice, half sparkling water) and avoided all contact with candy.  I also have a new, profound relationship with my kitchen – I think it likes me being around more.  Even washing the never-ending pile of dishes feels like less of a waste of time. 

Since everything’s going so well, I’m going to focus even more attention on nutrition over the next few weeks.  So, I’ve put together The Healthy Junkie’s list of superfoods.  Of course, consuming a variety of all fruits, vegetables, legumes (beans), whole grains, fish and lean meats is healthy.   My list of superfoods is not exhaustive.   

ALL foods on the following list contain super high amounts of vitamins and minerals.  These are my top 15 superfoods (not in any order):

  1. Wheatgrass – You can juice it or buy it in powdered form.  High in chlorophyll.
  2. Green Powder – Add this to your green smoothie to make it even greener.  Alkaline green plant food.
  3. Greens – kale, dandelion greens, arugula, spinach.
  4. Pomegranates – Antioxidants.
  5. Beets – Blood builder, liver detoxifier.
  6. Seaweed – nori, dulse, arame, kelp – Rich source of iodine and antioxidants not found in large concentrations in other foods.
  7. Blueberries – Antioxidants.
  8. Pumpkin seeds – Amazing for men (loads of zinc needed for the prostate).
  9. Brazil nuts – “Super” high in selenium – Only eat two of these nuts per day to ingest the daily required intake.
  10. Juicing with a juicer – beets, carrots, apples, green peppers, ginger (all together)
  11. Broccoli – Anti-cancer food.
  12. Wild Salmon – Omega 3s.
  13. Millet and Quinoa –  Both are grains and cook like rice.  Quinoa is also high in protein.
  14. Garbanzo beans (Chickpeas) and Lentils – High in fiber and protein. 
  15. Spices and Herbs – Parsley, Ginger, Turmeric, Garlic, Cilantro, Oregano – Antioxidants.  Add to dishes, juices (ginger, garlic and parsley, cilantro) and smoothies (parsley, cilantro).

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Big Mama on November 2, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    I received a wonderful, not to mention timely, b’day gift from my sis Mo this past weekend. Two bags of Quinoa (1 is red) and a fabulous recipe book called Quinoa 365-The Everyday Superfood.
    There are recipes for breakfast, lunch and dinner-even dessert and baby food. Authors website is quinoa365.com I’ll be trying some recipes out for sure over the next 2 wks so will keep you posted on gmail.

  2. Posted by Stephanie DeMasi on November 2, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    this list makes me SO happy, so many favorite foods!

  3. I didn’t get organized enough to join you this week. However, I’ve eliminated coffee and alcohol, and most breads and am hoping to join the cleanse officially for the last week. I’ll be catching up on past posts to see what I need – assuming there is a list or somesuch of must-haves for the pantry/refrigerator.
    cheers.

    • Sounds like you’re well on your way. Check out the posts entitled “Shopping List” and “Eating Out and Travelling”. Happy Cleansing!
      Laura Levesque-Page
      The Healthy Junkie

Comments are closed.

