The Will to Power Through

Yesterday I went wine tasting – no joke.  Of course I didn’t sip any wine.  I obviously take The Community Cleanse seriously.  We’re hosting my Dad and two of my aunts for a total of two weeks.  For the past three days, I’ve been opening bottles of wine, cutting way too many blocks of cheese and wine touring with our guests as they sip their delicious wines.  It’s amazing how much will power I have.  Don’t get me wrong, there have been moments when I wanted to hip check them and snatch their buttery Chardonnay, crisp Champagne (I know – sparkling wine) or deep, fruity Cabernet right out of their hands.  Over the length of the cleanse, I’ve had no problem ignoring the drinks being poured and enjoyed at friends’ houses or bars, but having to play tour guide in my favorite wineries and not partaking in a sip – well I literally patted myself on the back every time we piled back into the car – still sitting high on the wagon.  I just keep telling myself, “The cleanse won’t last forever,” and with only five days left, there’s no way I can give up and cheat now.   

I went searching for an inspiring quote on will power and of course Wikipedia came up first on the search list.  I found a line that refers to will power according to Nietzsche.   “{W}ill is more a “creative spark,” a certain independence and stubbornness.”  Lately I feel I am re-creating myself with this cleanse.  I was happy to be touring and “wine tasting”.  I’m happy cutting cheese and watching my family eat chocolates and drink lattes.  I’m happy they’re enjoying themselves and funny enough I’m enjoying watching myself be independent and stubborn in my will to finish what I signed up for.  You ask, “Do I want wine and cheese?”  The answer to that question would be a big fat YES.  But I don’t feel deprived in any way by not having it right now.  Of course I’m excited for Monday.  Not sure what I’ll do with myself, but I’m excited to have accomplished the 28 days.  But at the moment, I’m very much content to be visiting with my family, still cleansing.  I find my creative spark has intensified its sparkle over the past three and a half weeks.  The testing and reemergence of my will power is exactly what I needed to complete this four-week journey.  Happy cleansing!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by lela on November 10, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    It is amazing isn’t it? I could not have said it any better myself. This cleanse has re-inspired my will power which has been lacking for quite some time. You are what you eat has floated through my head over and over again this last year and during the cleanse. I have been needing this break for a long time. Because I was a fairly healthy eater before this I don’t feel drastically different BUT my senses and awareness are at a all time high. I can tell with one bite whether there is added sugars in products (this has been mainly when I am dining out). It feels amazing to make these choices. I am not eager to jump back in to any of my bad habits but am looking forward to my first cup of coffee and glass of wine!

Comments are closed.

