New Year’s Revolution – I mean Resolution

Today is the two-week countdown to January 1st, 2011 – crazy!   Every New Year, since I was young, I’ve mixed up the word resolution with revolution.  I tell my friends and family something like, “This year for my New Year’s revolution, I’m going to lose x number of pounds, join the gym, read more books, meditate more often, take more relaxing baths, eat more kale, quit this or that,” and so on. 

The definition for revolution is “a drastic and far-reaching change in ways of thinking and behaving”.  Maybe that’s always been my problem with my New Year’s revolution.  It’s just too drastic.  For instance, when formalizing the revolution to go to the gym in my mind, I tell myself I’ll go at least three times per week for the whole year.  My personal, unsupported revolutions just never seem to work out for me.  

The definition for resolution is “a decision to do something or to behave in a certain manner.”  This seems a little less drastic – considering drastic isn’t used in the description of resolution.  So even though the first Community Cleanse ended on November 14th I’ve decided, as my New Year’s resolution, to complete another Healthy Junkie four-week Community Cleanse from January 4th through January 31st.  Go to The Community Cleanse page for more details.  January seems like a perfect time to do it all over again considering I’m already feeling the snowball effects of holiday parties.  December outings can lead us down the path of too much fun, which includes too much food, too much sugar, much too much cheese, and too much alcohol.  Maintaining our Healthy Junkie status can be a true challenge over the holidays when chocolates, cakes and cookies seem to quickly breed.

I know many of you will soon be deliberating over what to give up for 2011.  So how about joining The Community Cleanse and giving up all of the bad stuff for the four-weeks (or whatever amount of time suits you and your resolution)?  You can always start early on January 1st if you feel this is important.  I’m choosing to use the first few days of January to prepare my mind and my pantry.  Who knows maybe with all of us working together on our four-week Community Cleanse resolutions we can turn January 2011, into a revolution.

Happy Holidays!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by James on December 19, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    Looking forward to it! Let the peaceful revolution begin!

  2. Posted by elizabeth champion on December 27, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    Hi Laura! You and I met at Brooke’s baby shower (and you’ve taken my spin class). When I met you, you inspired me to do this cleanse on my own. In telling many of my colleagues about it, they too became intrigued.
    I will definitely be taking part and I’ve recruited a good amount of people from the Bounty Hunter to it with us!
    I’m excited and nervous. Thank you so much for putting this together!

    • Thanks so much for participating and recuiting others for the cleanse Elizabeth. Looking forward to taking your amazing spin classes in the New Year.
      Laura Levesque-Page
      The Healthy Junkie

  3. Posted by Elaine Levesque-Dobbin on January 15, 2011 at 9:18 am

    Hey Laura,
    Happy New Year! What an amazing and helpful website you have created. We love it! I may not be able to follow it to a tea. With that said, I will try many of your yummy and healthy community recipes. I often forget to drink water. So thanks for the encouragment and reminder. I am not on facebook as of yet. My husband and I visit California at least twice year. We hope to visit you soon. We live in Colorado Springs.

    All the very best and let’s keep in touch!

Comments are closed.

