January, 2011 Community Cleanse – One Week Countdown

Today marks the seven-day countdown to the Healthy Junkie’s Community Cleanse that begins on January 4th, 2011 and runs until January 31st.  Many of us are incorporating this into our 2011 New Year’s resolution as a way to lose weight (fat), rid our bodies of toxins, improve digestion, increase energy, increase immunity, improve sleep, or just be healthier in general.  I know many new Healthy Junkies as well as veterans will be participating and the rules for the Community Cleanse are pretty much the same.  You can choose to participate for one week up to the full four weeks.  You must eliminate at least four of the six elements on the cleanse list.  See Community Cleanse – Let’s All Commit! for a list of the rules and to download your “contract”.  I’ll be cleansing for four weeks with all six of the cleanse “ingredients” eliminated.  I’m looking forward to it after all this holiday indulgence that has quite frankly led to too much holiday cheer.  

A few nights ago I thought I was going to explode after eating the third family turkey Christmas dinner in a row.  But of course it never finishes with dinner – there’s always desert.  I’m pretty sure my mother’s ridiculously delicious carrot cake with cream cheese icing pushed me over the edge into a complete food coma.  But I’ve learnt a few lessons over this holiday season:  When it comes to all things cheesy, creamy, and all deserts, don’t continually ask your friends and family, “So exactly what’s in this?”  They don’t like to tell you and you probably won’t like the answers.  Also while eating deserts, don’t say in between bites, “Wow I’m sooo full.  I think I’m going to be sick.”  This may disrupt others enjoying their sweet tooth and no one wants to imagine us being sick.

Come January 4th I’m ready to give my body another break from all of it; coffee, white sugar, dairy, white flour, alcohol, processed and refined foods.  Don’t get me wrong I’m a little nervous, much like I was before embarking on the last Community Cleanse…. See One-Week Countdown to Community CleanseBut since this is my second time around, I have a little more experience and know that very quickly I’ll feel the positive effects of eating clean. 

For any of us who haven’t followed The Healthy Junkie blog until recently, or need that extra push to take this all seriously see the following past blog entries:

Coffee Break

White Sugar – Hazardous So Beware

Dairy – Oh Cheese I’m Going to Miss You

The Fake, The Sweet, The Goat and The “Chips”

With the holidays still in full swing here, I’m not going to escape the holiday cheer.  But I’m certainly going to do my best to keep from feeling as full as I did last night.  However, I’m not going to let my mother’s crack-carrot cake go to waste.  So off I go to eat a very small piece – very small.  After all we’re not yet cleansing. 

Happy Holidays Healthy Junkies!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Julie on December 28, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    Bring it on! We’re in!

  2. Posted by Sally on January 3, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    OH MY, sugar is in everyblinkingthing. What a discouraging trip to the grocery store. Oh well. Little step by little step. Bring on the recipes anyone, everyone… could really use the help. But in all, I like this, have a fb friend doing it with me. And we are in Toronto.. enjoy your visit!!

Comments are closed.

