Community Cleanse – Here We Come

Happy New Year!
Happy New Year!

I can’t wait for tomorrow!  Tomorrow’s the first day of the four-week Community Cleanse and I seriously can’t wait to give it all up; alcohol, white flour, sugar, processed and refined foods, dairy and caffeine.  I’m feeling heavy (how much can one person eat?), bloated (why does every house I’ve visited over the holidays have cookies and chocolate?) and pickled (New Year’s Eve was fun, but seriously…).  I’m not saying the cleanse is going to be easy, but in this moment I sure feel it’s necessary.       

First things first, let’s discard or give away the holiday chocolates, cookies, and any other sweets.  Next donate the cheese and any non-cleanse friendly leftovers to a neighbor.  Lock up the alcohol and hide the coffee.  Finally let’s get our cupboards and pantries stocked with wholesome foods.  The more prepared we are for tomorrow the more supported we’ll feel through the first days of the cleanse.  As a reminder to past cleansers and to help guide new cleansers, there are three past blog posts entitled Shopping List, Meal Suggestions for Cleanse, and Basic Recommendations – Community Cleanse I would suggest visiting.  If you’re concerned about costs, also see the post entitled Costs of Shopping.

Well I’m off to rediscover Montreal with my friend Lela.  My Canadian friends have convinced her that she must try poutine (a Quebec delicacy of french fries, cheese curds and gravy).  I don’t plan to partake in the eating of the poutine because I have had my fair share of this dish over my lifetime.  For the first days of our cleanse we’ll be travelling from Montreal to Toronto and then back to Napa so we’re going to incorporate some of the tricks that I last posted in the blog entitled Eating Out and Travelling.  Not ideal, but in my experience there’s never a perfect time to cleanse for four-weeks straight.  With only a few days left to our trip, I’m sure we’ll have just as much fun sans alcohol, sans poutine and without the over-eating.

Happy preparing community cleansers!  May 2011 be our healthiest year yet!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Hi Laura, hope you had fun in TO, Ottawa and Mtl … too bad we didn’t get a chance to see eachother😦

    Just to let you know I will be partaking in the cleanse. I even started already (since yesterday Jan 2nd.) I am cutting out caffeine, alcohol, most dairy, white flour, processed foods and sugar. I will read past blogs to understand more but I might have questions along the way.

    Good luck to all!
    Andrew P.

    • That’s great! Super excited you’re joining. Please – bring on the questions. They help others and help me come up with new blog ideas.
      Laura Levesque-Page
      The Healthy Junkie

      • 1st question: I found Organic foods and drinks that have “Evaporated cane juice”, “Brown pure cane sugar” … Yeah or neah?

        2nd Q: What about cocoa butter and cocoa mass?

        3rd Q: I gave up dairy so is whole milk powder something I want to avoid?

        That’s all for now … thanks Laura!

      • 1st – Organic cane juice and cane sugar is out – still sugar.
        2nd – Cocoa butter and cocoa mass contain small amounts of caffeine so they’re out. But you can use cocoa butter on your body.
        3rd – You want to avoid whole milk powder.
        Talk to you soon,
        Laura Levesque-Page
        The Healthy Junkie

  2. Posted by Sally on January 3, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    I am cutting out sugar, processed foods, alcohol, caffine and white flour. Can’t do dairy.. not this time, its too hard to find quick things to eat if I drop dairy.
    Nice to think of you here in Toronto as I embark on this, enjoy our bleak tundra-type winter.
    Good luck to everyone.. courage.
    Sally

    • It’s great that you’re cutting out five of the six elements. I’ll post more ideas and recipes that omit dairy in the coming weeks.
      Laura Levesque-Page
      The Healthy Junkie

Comments are closed.

