Yes You Can!

Three weeks down, less than one to go until The Community Cleanse is finished.  We can so do this!  In combination with this cleanse, and as part of my New Year’s Revolution, I decided to join the gym.  This morning I went to “boot camp” class.  Normally I do spinning.  I feel more comfortable with my form on a bike than jumping up and down doing burpees.  Elizabeth Champion teaches many classes and throughout them she yells, “YES YOU CAN.  OH YES YOU CAN.  YOU CAN DO THIS.  CAN YOU PUSH HARDER?” 

One thing I’ve realized through attending exercise classes regularly is that we get out of them what we put in.  Our efforts pay off in rewards later.  But in the excruciating moments, it’s not always easy to do our best, push ourselves as hard as we can.  This morning the ongoing banter in my mind went something like this, “Wow.  I really should’ve gotten up earlier and ate more for energy.  I should’ve had more sleep last night.  God, I’m so out of breath.  I might not make it through to the end of this class.”  And then Elizabeth startles me and shouts, “THIS IS NOT SUPPOSED TO BE EASY.” 

Our negative minds can also be applied to our cleanse, “Wow.  I should’ve gotten up earlier, now I’m not prepared and I’ll have to eat whatever I can find for lunch at work today.  I should’ve slept more last night, I’m going to need coffee to make it through this meeting.  God, I’m out of breath – out of steam, if I had one bite, just one bite, of that chocolate bar I’d make it through the day.  Seriously, I’m not sure I’m going to make it through to the end anyway, there’s that party this weekend and I’m probably going to drink.”  And then I hear her – my inner-Elizabeth chanting, “THIS IS NOT SUPPOSED TO BE EASY.  YOU CAN DO THIS.” 

Are you pushing yourself as hard as you can on The Community Cleanse?  Are you doing as much as you can to derive the benefits from this cleansing time?  Can you add more greens to your diet?  Have you tried kale, Swiss chard, dandelion greens, arugula, collard greens and spinach?  Are you incorporating Superfoods into the mix?  Have you been ingesting organic apple cider vinegar or fresh lemon in your water every morning upon rising?  Are you eating enough fiber like flax meal, chia seeds, oat bran, legumes, oatmeal, brown rice, quinoa, and millet?  Are you reading ALL labels to ensure you’re avoiding sugar (with all its misleading names), white flour, processed/hydrogenated foods, caffeine, dairy and alcohol? 

I want to reap the rewards from this cleanse.  I want the healthy pay-off for all my efforts.  My voice screams, “THERE’S NO GIVING UP NOW.  THERE’S NO ROOM FOR CHEATING.  THIS IS NOT SUPPOSED TO BE EASY.  I CAN DO MORE.  I CAN FINISH THIS.”

Happy cleansing everyone!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by chris on January 29, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    Hey cleansers,

    Congrats for making it this far (or as far as you did, no matter the distance).

    I wrote some thoughts about my experience and thought I’d share: http://ojmusings.blogspot.com/2011/01/i-feel-good.html

    Way to be.

    Chris

Comments are closed.

