Chocolate, Love and Kale

Valentine’s Day got me thinking about chocolate so I bought these delicious, agave sweetened chocolate cupcakes. Chocolate got me thinking about love. Love got me thinking about the first week my husband, Jay, and I met.  

We were both in Carrie and Matt’s wedding party (my sister and her husband—Jay is one of Matt’s closest friends). The guys were picking Matt up for his bachelor party and I was in the kitchen cooking.

“Looks like everyone else is eating pizza,” Jay said and leaned toward me. I got a little weak in knees, thinking he must be hiding some kind of Laura-kryptonite in his pocket. “What’s that you’re cooking?” he asked. “That looks delicious.”

“It’s Kale,” I said and stirred it around in the pan, not knowing what else to say.

“Oh, no kidding,” Jay said, stepping a foot closer to me. “Kale’s like my favorite vegetable.”

“Really?” I asked sounding more interested than questioning. “I’ve never known kale to be anyone’s favorite vegetable.”

I believed him. It wasn’t until months later when I asked if he would cook the kale that Jay admitted he had never actually tried it before.

I suggest we all choose a dark green, or a leafy green vegetable, as our favorite food and eat it often. Collard greens, kale, Swiss chard, arugula, spinach, broccoli, Brussels sprouts and asparagus are all high in chlorophyll and anti-oxidants that help to detoxify our bodies. They are also rich in many vitamins and minerals including vitamins A, C, K, the B-vitamins including folate, calcium, and fiber.

Today, Jay will tell you that kale is in fact his favorite vegetable (I suppose it has to be). We put kale in our morning smoothies, make kale and arugula pesto, and chop up a whole head of kale adding it to the mix when we stir fry or make tomato sauce—always looking for more ways to incorporate Jay’s favorite vegetable.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Chris on February 15, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    Such a cute story…….I chuckle every time I hear it. Thanks Laura for sharing and reminding me of different ways to eat my son’s ‘favourite vegetable’. xxoo
    Chris Page

  2. Posted by Chris on February 15, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    Next year for Valentine’s, you should make a chocolate sauce and pour it all over Jay’s kale. (That kind of sounds dirty all of a sudden – is it me or my mind?)
    Chris Pady

Comments are closed.

