Five-Day Meal Plan

Get Ready Community Cleansers

Tomorrow, May 4th, is the first day of yet another Community Cleanse. If tomorrow doesn’t work for you, pick another day and stick to it! Regardless of your start date, when carrying out my goals on The Community Cleanse, I find it easier to make decisions on what my husband and I are going to eat ahead of time. Below I have made my shopping list for the first five days. Since we will be avoiding all sugar, white flour, dairy, caffeine, alcohol and processed / hydrogenated foods, I feel the need to be a little more prepared to ensure we succeed. If the following meal suggestions don’t send you drooling, try variations on your own. Don’t be afraid to just throw healthy ingredients together. There are so many delicious and nutritious cleanse friendly meals to discover.

Healthy Junkies who have completed other Community Cleanses often say, “The cleanse was actually much easier than I expected it to be. I didn’t really miss the omitted foods that much, okay, well maybe just the coffee (or __________ fill in the blank for your main weakness). But it wasn’t too bad. I just needed to plan ahead more often.”

Hopefully my five-day meal list will inspire some new ideas. Regardless, be prepared to read labels and start cooking a little more frequently over the next weeks. Let me repeat that one; be prepared to read all labels. Most of the recipes have links to the blog posts with recipe instructions. Also, I try to buy organic and local as much as possible, but I don’t write organic in front of all ingredients listed.

Breakfast

I’m going to stick to green breakfast smoothies over the next five days and then switch to steel-cut oats, later next week. I intend to mix up the ingredients and make the smoothies a little different every day.

List of ingredients for green breakfast smoothies: Bananas (one for two people), frozen broccoli, frozen peas, frozen blueberries, spinach, kale, apples, oranges, red peppers, wheat grass powder, raw almonds or pecans or walnuts, flaxseed powder. I use water as the liquid.

Lunch and Dinner

Lunch and dinner recipes are lumped together in the following section and feed two people, for two meals each. Since I’m going to prepare for the first five days of The Community Cleanse, we need a total of ten meals each. But we’re eating every meal twice, so I only need five different recipes. I have no problem with leftovers. I like to eat my previous dinners, for lunch or dinner the next day. This limits my time in the kitchen, allowing me the time to do other things—like write, exercise, or read.

Giant Salad

See post https://thehealthyjunkie.wordpress.com/2010/10/20/a-day-of-eating-on-the-community-cleanse/

I’m going to process enough veggies and toast enough pumpkin seeds for two salads each–two meals each. I’m adding carrots, instead of tomato, to the veggie mix and incorporating hard-boiled eggs instead of fresh turkey as protein. I’m also going to add brown rice and black beans for an extra giant, mammoth style salad. Since I already know we’re going to be having brown rice at dinner as well, I’m going to make lots of brown rice ahead of time.

List of ingredients for giant salad: Baby greens (spinach or lettuce), beets, carrots, zucchini, red pepper, chicken, pumpkin seeds, olive oil, Annie’s Goddess dressing (another cleanse friendly salad dressing or make your own with apple cider vinegar, olive oil, and lemon). I use my food processor.

Chicken Tonight (two meals)

We buy organic whole chicken already cooked—I find it faster and easier. I’ll use the extra brown rice I cooked at lunch, or last night in preparation for tonight’s meal. Stir-fry broccoli and asparagus in a little olive oil and garlic. Add Bragg Liquid Aminos (tastes like soy sauce) to brown rice and veggies. 

List of ingredients for Chicken Tonight: Whole organic cooked or raw chicken, brown rice, broccoli, asparagus, olive oil, garlic, Bragg Liquid Aminos.

Butternut Squash Soup and Veggie Brown Rice Couscous Salad

See posts: https://thehealthyjunkie.wordpress.com/2011/01/09/butternut-squash-apple-soup/ and https://thehealthyjunkie.wordpress.com/2011/01/09/vegetable-brown-rice-couscous-salad/

I’m going to prepare both of these and eat them together as a meal. I expect I might end up with more than enough food for two meals each. I sure hope so because I find a small bowl of soup or couscous salad to be a perfect snack.

Ingredients for Butternut Squash Soup: Yellow onion, 1 rib celery, carrot, olive oil, butternut squash, 1 tart green apple, chicken broth, cinnamon, all spice, sea salt, pepper. I use my food processor.

Ingredients for Brown Rice Couscous Salad: Red pepper, orange pepper, zucchini, asparagus, sweet potato, Swiss chard, garlic, 1 box of brown rice couscous, 1 can of adzuki beans or chickpeas, sesame oil, olive oil, sea salt, pepper.

Salmon (or other Fish), fried onions, veggie stir-fry and millet

I love fish. It’s healthy and salmon is high in EFAs. It’s also very satisfying—filling. I don’t like to feel hungry when cleansing. Bake salmon or other fish in the oven. Try grating organic lemon rind onto the fish (Meyer lemon is sweet and delicious). Stir-fry onions (caramelized) in a little olive oil and eat on top of fish. I add Bragg’s to my millet and veggie stir-fry. I mix dill (spice) into a tablespoon of Grape Seed Oil Vegenaise and eat this on top of my fish. Delicious!

Ingredient for Salmon Meal: Salmon or another type of fish, organic lemon, onions, red pepper, yellow zucchini squash, chopped kale, millet, Bragg’s Amino Acid, dill spice, Grape Seed Oil Vegenaise “mayonnaise”. I use my iron skillet to sauté the veggies—it gives them a nice charred flavor.

Pesto Pasta

This is by far the healthiest pesto around. I make a pesto pizza as well. But this week I’m in the mood for pasta. I’m going to put scoops of the pesto over my kamut pasta and then top with chopped tomatoes and either toasted pine nuts or toasted pumpkin seeds. You can try soy parmesan cheese on top too!

Feeling adventurous? Try dandelion greens instead of arugula (warning—this makes it bitterer). The beauty is this pesto is ridiculously jam-packed with greens. You’ll feel your energy rising! 

https://thehealthyjunkie.wordpress.com/2010/10/24/calling-all-healthy-junkies-recipes/

Ingredients for Pesto Pasta: Arugula, kale, frozen peas, basil, olive oil, walnuts, lemons, garlic, kamut pasta, tomatoes, pine nuts or pumpkin seeds, sea salt, pepper. I use my food processor for the pesto.

Snacks

My main-stay snacks are brown rice crackers with hummus, and almond butter smothered onto Gala apples. Sometimes I need to carry easy cleanse friendly calories with me so I always have granola bars at arm’s reach like Larabars—Ginger Snap and Cashew Cookie. I’ll also have extra leftovers from the meals listed above that I can use as snacks. I have pure pomegranate juice and sparkling water if I need a “drink”.

Ingredients for snacks: Brown rice crackers, Mary’s Gone Crackers, hummus, almond butter, Gala apples, Larabars, pomegranate juice, sparkling water.

Deserts

I’ve found it better to have something sweet in the house that is cleanse-worthy, instead of nothing. At times, my sweet tooth shows its fangs and I’m afraid of what I would eat if I didn’t have an alternative on hand. Most of the time, all I need is a taste to pull me through like a heaping tablespoon of Luna and Larry’s “Ice Cream”. Larabar granola bars can also taste like desert.

Ingredients for deserts: Luna and Larry’s Vanilla Island Coconut Bliss “Ice Cream”.

Supplements and Teas

I have 1-2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar in a glass of water every morning (very cleansing). Let’s stick to the essential supplements I’m going to take; a good multi-vitamin and mineral complex, vitamin C with bioflavanoids (needed to absorb the vitamin C), fish oil (EFAs), extra calcium/magnesium/vitamin D. I need to buy green tea and other herbal teas (like dandelion root, nettle, horsetail) to replace my coffee.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lucretia on May 5, 2011 at 11:04 pm

    This is so helpful and inspiring! I can’t wait to start cleansing tomorrow.

  2. So happy to have you onboard! Let me know how it goes.
    Laura Levesque Page
    The Healthy Junkie

Comments are closed.

