Today’s Really the Day

Last night, when I was lying in bed, I was so excited about today … the first day of The Community Cleanse. I was excited because I’ve completed two of these cleanses in the past eight months and know how amazing I end up feeling. I’ve figured out that about every three months, my body starts to feel a little more sluggish, my mind is a little less sharp, and my middle area is a little looser than I would like it to be. I think one of the goals in life is to live free from addictions. I feel it’s necessary to break our perpetual habits—even if only briefly—of consuming sugar, dairy, white flour, processed / refined foods, caffeine and alcohol. The only addiction I like to brag about having is my romance with vegetables.     

So last night, I was dreaming about how ready I am to give my body another cleansing break, and then I woke up and realized I can’t have my daily latte. I made it all the way to Oxbow, the indoor market where I normally get my coffee, thinking maybe I should just have one anyway. I said to Jay, “I need a latte to make it through today. Maybe I should start the cleanse tomorrow. Plus, I have book club tonight and always have a glass of wine with the ladies, and then tomorrow is Cinco de Mayo and we’re going out with our softball team. Maybe it’s actually more realistic to start the cleanse on Friday.”

The truth is the perfect time to start The Community Cleanse does not exist. Even though others are doing it at the same time as us, it doesn’t make up for the fact that we have to actually follow the guidelines and do the work. There are always going to be get-togethers, wine events, parties, and work-socials. Oh no, that reminds me … I have a wine and cheese writers event on Friday night. Maybe I should start the cleanse on Saturday? See what I mean? I could go on and on, I’m sure.

But since I chose to start The Community Cleanse today and even told everyone I was starting today, I suppose I really am starting today … even if kicking and screaming. I’m still going to my book club tonight, I’m still going out for Cinco de Mayo tomorrow, I’m still going to the wine and cheese event on Friday, and damn it, I’m still going to have fun. I might be a little tired for the first few days without my coffee. But I know what to expect over the next month if I just stick to it; increased energy, more positive moods, happier thoughts, a clearer and more peaceful mind, a cleaner feeling body, I’ll lose weight and look thinner, feel less bloated and in the end I’ll be pretty darn proud of myself.

So if today didn’t work out for you, no problem, choose again. Maybe Monday works as a better start date. Regardless, just pick a day and stick to it. It’s not easy but I can assure you, it’s well worth it.

Happy cleansing Healthy Junkies!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lela on May 5, 2011 at 11:28 pm

    So as you know I will be joining a day late. I am very much looking forward to it but not ready at the same time if that makes any sense. Gonna miss that morning cup of joe for sure but its a small price to pay for how I will feel in a couple of weeks. Yay!

  2. At the moment, green tea is my best friend. After only three days, I’m beginning to feel the difference from abstaining from it all. I’m beginning to feel cleaner. Thanks for participating-again!
    Laura Levesque Page
    The Healthy Junkie

Comments are closed.

