Mind Your Mind

I don’t always trust my mind. I don’t always feel like my mind has my back and I’m sometimes left wondering if it’s my friend or enemy. True friends encourage and support us when we’re feeling low or having a bad day. Real friends listen and gently help us to see how amazing and accomplished we are. Sometimes good friends help us to understand that we need to make a change to become happier and healthier.

My mind does not always act like a true friend and sometimes I feel misguided. It does not promote confidence at all times. It certainly does not always cheer me up and sometimes it’s downright cruel. I can’t imagine my mind is trying to raise my spirits when it feeds me thoughts like, “Who are you kidding. Wow, that’s seriously terrible. You suck. You’re fat. You’re never going to be able to do that.” Luckily, I’ve come to realize just how tricky my mind can sometimes be. When it suddenly turns on me and starts treating me badly, I try to remember I have a bag of tricks to keep it more kind and loyal.

I find negative thoughts draining. They also lead to negative emotions and then I spend a great deal of energy feeling crappy about myself, trying to dig myself out of my tormented mind-hole. So, I choose to utilize my energy upfront, before the negativity wraps me in its web. I work my martial arts mind magic and override the negative thoughts. I say things like, “I’m amazing. I’ve got this. I’m healthy and look great. I can totally do this.”

When my mind says, “You’re not good enough,” I say, “I’m better than good enough.” Sometimes I don’t really believe what I’m saying, but then I say, “I’m better than good enough,” over and over again, until miraculously I begin to believe it. I’ve been playing this mind game now for so long that the negative thoughts have lessened. I don’t assume they will ever completely go away, but my mind and I have become better friends. Whenever it gets nasty, I remind it that friends’ love, nurture and support each other. Abraham Lincoln said, “The best way to destroy an enemy is to make him a friend.” I agree and say, “I see you, enemy mind, and we’re going to hug out every negative thought until you grow into my best friend.”

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lucretia on June 20, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    What a timely post Laura. I was a bit hijacked by my negative mind today. Thank you for sharing your tricks. May we all remember that we have a mind but we are not our mind.

  2. Posted by Joey Marie on June 21, 2011 at 5:04 am

    I’m so glad you’re back! I adore your blog! Thanks for being you.

  3. Posted by Lela on July 1, 2011 at 8:02 am

    Great blog Laura! It’s a nice reminder to be nice to yourself.

Comments are closed.

