Perfect Coincidence

 A few months ago, I went to a writer’s conference in San Diego called Movers and Shakers about how to build a stronger platform to help get my book published. One of the entertaining speakers, Cheryl Richardson, told us a story about how she often leaves affirmation cards (also called inspiration cards and gratitude cards) in various places to spread love and joy when she travels. As an example of where she might leave these loving cards, she said she sometimes places one in the billfold with her payment at restaurants. 

   A few days after I returned home from the workshop, I was having tea with a friend at one of the local coffee shops in Napa. We brainstormed ways I would begin to speak publicly about my story. As I continued to plan out my next moves, anxiety started to bubble in my stomach. The more I talked, the more worried I became. “What if I never find an agent? What if my writing sucks? What if I can’t figure out a way to speak clearly about my message? What if this has all been a waste of time? What if I fail?”

I said goodbye to my friend and walked with a heavy-mind, back to my car that I’d parked on the opposite side of the street. As I approached the windshield, I saw a purple, square card. I looked around to see if other cars had this peculiar looking card on their windshields. My car was the only one. I lifted it from out and under the windshield wiper and realized I was staring at an affirmation card. Goosebumps shivered up and down my arms. I shook my head as my eyes darted from one person to the next. Who put this here? Was it the couple sitting across the street at the Bounty Hunter restaurant? Was it the man with the blue hat walking his dog? “This is totally crazy,” I said under my breath. No one knew about Cheryl’s story of handing out affirmation cards. I hadn’t told anyone. (Later, the synchronicity deepened when I googled the card and realized it was created by the same lady and company—Louise Hay and Hay House Publishing—who had put on the workshop.)

I quickly unlocked my door and jumped into the front seat. I continued to shake my head and rolled down the windows. I stared at the gratitude card and read the message out loud, “I release all fears and doubts.” I read it again, “I release all fears and doubts.” This is pretty amazing, I thought as my eyes filled with tears of wonder. I read the other side of the card, “I accept myself and create peace in my mind and heart. I now choose to free myself from all destructive fears and doubts. I am loved and I am safe.”

I placed the inspirational card upright on the dashboard and stared at it for a few minutes. I breathed in a deep breath and relaxed into the message of the card. “I release all fears and doubts.” I have no idea who left the card on my car, but I thank them, Cheryl Richardson, and Louise Hay, for reminding me of just how powerful and perfect, my life and the universe can be.

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by laura hamelin on July 18, 2011 at 6:37 am

    Very very cool story! Great things happen to great people!!

  2. Posted by Gail on July 18, 2011 at 9:38 am

    I love stories such as this…I also love Louise Hay. I have her 101 Power Thoughts app downloaded on my Ipad and listen to it when I need some affirmations and a litte pick me up….very inspiring!
    Have you read this book…”Bouncing Back – thriving in changing times”‘, from the series Wake Up…Live the Life you Love, compiled by Steven E, & Lee Beard. Many short stories such as yours written by authors, sharing their collective wisdom, painful recollections, and in some cases, their most private thoughts so that others may recover balance and restore a forward momentum to their lives.
    Can’t wait to read your story! Heart to heart hugs….Gail

    • I haven’t read that book. Thank you for the information. The book sounds wonderful. I keep the affirmation card close by, where I can see it. It certainly helps to be reminded. It’s amazing how quickly we can forget the power of our own experiences. I hope to savor this one for a long, long time. Thank you again, for all the love and support.
      Laura Levesque Page
      The Healthy Junkie

  3. Posted by Lela on July 18, 2011 at 12:17 pm

    Sooo amazing! I got goose bumps.

  4. Posted by Chris on July 18, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    Laura, I’ve never heard this story……..holy cow, it’s amazing. Freaky…..but amazing!! How can you possibly ‘fail’? I think it’s the beginning of a new book!!

  5. Posted by LIndy Powell on July 19, 2011 at 8:19 am

    My dear Laura, your writing sure doesn’t uck, it’s wonderful…you make healthy eating so accessible, and your stories and humour are inspiring. Ilove this story, love it!
    And when your book is published, I’ll buy one for me and all my dearest friends!
    love, Lindy

    • Thank you! You are so sweet and supportive. I don’t get down on myself all that often, but it was pretty amazing to have this happen right after a moment of worry and insecurity. It made me wonder if we somehow ignore smaller signs of being perfectly supported by the universe. Of course, I prefer the kind of sign that is blatantly obvious, but I know there are so many little signs that keep me steady and centered on my path. Thanks, Lindy. Your words mean so much. Love,
      Laura Levesque Page
      The Healthy Junkie

  6. Posted by Elaine on July 19, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    So amazing Laura, this inspirational card no doubt was placed on your windshield by someone you have touched and so deeply believes in you!

    Here is my card to you…………

    “Keep your dreams alive. Understand to achieve anything requires faith and belief in yourself, vision, hard work, determination, and dedication. Remember all things are possible for those who believe.”…………and I certainly believe in you!!

    Elaine xo

  7. Posted by Kim Luinstra on July 28, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    I loved reading this story; thank you for sharing it! Reading it and the sense of amazement, gratitude and curiosity in your words made me smile thinking of you and how much I have always admired you. Your positive thoughts bring great things to your own life and the lives all those that know you. You will publish your book and touch many people with it. xo Kim

Comments are closed.

