Defeating the Odds

An excerpt from my memoir has been published in the magazine Law of Attraction: Happy, Healthy, Wealthy, July 19th. It’s entitled “Defeating the Odds: How Laura ignores reality and regains the use of her paralyzed arm.”

At twenty-one, I underwent my first surgery for an aggressive thoracic tumor. All I wanted was to get out of the hospital and have my old life back. Instead, two days later, I was left paralyzed by a morphine injection. The neurologists said nothing could be done for my arm. Defying them, I forced myself into the shallow end of a pool. Every day, for many months, I went to the pool at the local gym. I stood in the shallow end and squatted to ensure my body was covered up to my neck in water. My appendage floated up to the surface and I gently pushed it down with my right hand. Over and over, I watched as my lifeless left arm, with only skin covering bones, floated to the top of the water to defy gravity. I continued to visualize my arm as it was before; strong and muscular. I looked down at my sunken-in shoulder, my withered bicep. I couldn’t believe my left arm was going to be paralyzed for the rest of my life—it just didn’t seem possible. I couldn’t accept I was powerless and just give up, like the doctors suggested. I couldn’t accept I had no control over the situation. Half a year later, I could move it again.

I believed—truly believed I would heal. This idea inspired me to ignore my grim prognosis and continue on. Being able to move my arm again became my only focus, it was my only intention. Buddha is quoted as having said, “All that we are is a result of what we have thought.” Although I sometimes forget, I try to remember the power of my positive mind. I know my thinking helps shape my life and I’m so grateful for the results.

{The magazine is sold in book stores, department stores and pharmacies across the US and Canada. Visit the facebook page for a list. Also, the editor, Sue Elliott says, “The Law of Attraction Magazine website will soon be selling it on-line.”}  

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Andrea on August 1, 2011 at 11:22 am

    HI Laura, that is very inspiring and I am so happy that you had something published. You must be very happy about that. Way to go,
    Auntie Andrea

  2. Posted by laura hamelin on August 1, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    Crazy awesome! My sister in law is so great!! Way to motivate us all to stay positive!

  3. Posted by LIndy Powell on August 1, 2011 at 6:46 pm

    Hi, laura,
    i’m so glad your story was published for a wider audience…you’re an inspiring woman!
    Love, Lindy

  4. Posted by Sue Elliott on August 2, 2011 at 10:48 am

    Laura,

    You’re incredibly inspiring — and a fabulous writer! Your article in the magazine is absolutely riveting, and I guarantee it will give readers goosebumps!

    Thank you so much for sharing this with your community.

    Joyful regards,
    Sue Elliott
    Editor
    Law of Attraction Magazine: Happy Wealthy Healthy
    http://www.LawofAttractionMag.com/
    http://www.facebook.com/lawofattractionmagazine

  5. Posted by Big Mama on August 2, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    Hi Laura,
    This is such great news! So proud of you, honey and so happy that this was published. You are unique and amazing and an inspiration in my life always.
    Love you, Mom xoxoxo

  6. Thanks to you all, for your comments and support. It means so much to me. XOX
    Laura Levesque Page
    The Healthy Junkie

Comments are closed.

